Sunday, July 24, 2016

Library Haul 2016 (July 24 - 30)


Here's the list of books I picked up from the library this week:

Hardcover:

1.  Flawless - Heather Graham
2.  Murder in an Irish Village - Carlene O'Connor
3.  The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum - Kirsten Weiss

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Suzanne Trauth's SHOW TIME Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have D.E. Haggerty here at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks D.E. and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your Bring Your Own Baker Blog Tour!

Please take it away, D.E.!





Show Time (A Dodie O’Dell Mystery)
Lyrical Underground (July 19, 2016)
Paperback: 228 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1601837202
E-Book ASIN: B0174PKHFG






The tide has turned for Dodie O’Dell since a hurricane upended her life on the Jersey Shore. Now she’s further up the coast in sleepy Etonville, managing a restaurant that dishes dinners themed around the community theater’s latest productions. But Dodie just never imagined she’d land the starring role in a case of bloody homicide.

Intrigued by rumors of vanishing box office money, Dodie has agreed to help oversee the casting of Romeo and Juliet at the modest Etonville Little Theater. If nothing else, it’s a welcome escape from the thirty-something’s usual going-to-bed-with-a-mystery-novel routine. But when Jerome Angleton, a well-respected member of the theater company, is inexplicably found murdered on the loading dock, deadly drama transcends the stage — and the page. As a crime wave crashes over the small town, the spotlight is on Dodie to orchestrate her own investigation behind the scenes before someone has a chance at a killer encore.






Suzanne Trauth, Harvard Studio, Montclair, NJ. 06/27/2014 Photo by Steve Hockstein/HarvardStudio.com

About The Author

Suzanne Trauth is a novelist, playwright, screenwriter, and a former university theatre professor. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Dramatists Guild. When she is not writing, Suzanne coaches actors and serves as a celebrant performing wedding ceremonies. She lives in Woodland Park, New Jersey. Readers can visit her website at www.suzannetrauth.com.

Purchase Links


AmazonB&N

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/show-time-suzanne-trauth/









Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail (July 23)


Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week.  






Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan risked it all to protect Cara Delaney from the enemies who want her dead. The journey has led them from California to a remote mountain in the Scottish highlands -- and earned Eve the distinction of becoming their next target. When, despite all precautions, Cara is taken, Eve must hunt down the very people who want to kill her in order to save the young girl. At a time in her life when she has more at stake than ever before, she unhesitatingly puts it all on the line in a pulse-pounding mission of rescue and survival.

Full of danger, intrigue and heart, Iris Johansen's Night and Day is a breathtaking, high-energy adventure that’s sure to keep readers riveted from the first page to the last.



 

Shooting the Sphinx: a unique political thriller about an American filmmaker who becomes involved in the Egyptian Revolution of 2011 by Avram Noble Ludwig.

In Hollywood, Ari Basher is the stuff of legends, the man who always gets the impossible-to-film shots. In Cairo, however, he faces the most difficult and dangerous challenge of his career: he must photograph, from mere feet away, the face of the imperishable Sphinx. The film depends on it, but if Ari damages the ancient Sphinx, he could end up in an Egyptian prison for life or even dead.

Compounding his troubles, Ari has saved a dark-haired revolutionary named Farah from being raped by government thugs, and she has turned his life around. Now he is caught in a web of intrigue, torn between his need to work with the military dictatorship to get the shot and his desire for this passionate revolutionary. Losing her is not an option.

Will Ari join in the liberation of Egypt? Will he and Farah escape the country alive? Finally will Ari get the shot?





Ana Bacon, a young housewife, tumbles off a cruise ship into the dark and deadly waters, but did she take her secrets with her?

Investigator Ryan Monahan is a numbers man. So when his company sends him the Bacon case, which could net a ten million dollar payout, Monahan doubts that her death is just a tragic accident. But the husband has a substantial alibi and a number of witnesses claim to have seen Ana fall. So the official ruling seems to be substantiated.

Still, the more Monahan uncovers about Ana’s life, the more he realizes how many people would kill to keep her secrets hidden. And the closer he gets to the truth, the greater the odds grow that he, too, will take a fatal fall.

Cate Holahan looks at the dark underbelly of a marriage from the perspectives of the detective and the victim in her tense and enthralling page-turner, The Widower's Wife.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

The Obsession

 

I've finished "The Obsession" by Nora Roberts.

Product Description

The riveting new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Liar.


“She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her.”

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous. No matter how close she gets to happiness, she can’t outrun the sins of Thomas David Bowes.

Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, a rambling old house in need of repair, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the kindly residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up — especially the determined Xander Keaton.

Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But the sins of her father can become an obsession, and, as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.

About the Author

Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including The Liar, The Collector, Whiskey Beach, The Witness, and many more. She is also the author of the bestselling In Death series written under the pen name J. D. Robb. There are more than 500 million copies of her books in print.

Product Details
Hardcover: 464 pages
Publisher: Berkley; First Edition edition (April 12, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399175164
ISBN-13: 978-0399175169


My Review:

4/5

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books Wish List

 
Please list the books from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books, I'm Waiting For:   






www.TheOriginalHeatherGraham.com

Alaska — the final frontier?

When Clara Avery, an entertainer working on the Fate, an Alaskan cruise ship, goes to nearby Bear Island, she comes across a scene of bloody mayhem. She also comes across Thor Erikson, who will soon be a member of the FBI's elite paranormal unit, the Krewe of Hunters.

Thor's been sent from the Alaska field office to investigate several grotesque killings, with the dead posed to resemble the victims of notorious murderers. The prime suspect is a serial killer Thor once put behind bars. The man escaped from a prison in the Midwest, and all the evidence says he was headed to Alaska.

Thor and Clara share an unusual skill: the ability to communicate with the dead. Their growing love — and their contact with the ghosts of the victims — brings them together to solve the case and prevent a deadly fate of their own!





Exciting, emotional, intense. The thrilling follow-up to New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak's highly acclaimed The Secret Sister. The things that happen in families are always surprising and sometimes shocking!

The rich and powerful Josephine Lazarow, matriarch of Fairham Island, is dead. The police say it's suicide, but Keith, her estranged son, doesn't believe it.


Keith bears scars — both physical and emotional — from his childhood, but he's worked hard to overcome the past. After walking away from his mother and her controlling ways five years ago, he's built a new life in LA. He's also accumulated a fortune of his own. But as soon as he learns of his mother's death, he returns to Fairham. He feels he owes it to his grandfather to put the family empire together again — and he's determined to find his mother's killer.

Problem is coming home to Fairham puts him back in contact with Nancy Dellinger, the woman he hurt so badly when he left before. And digging that deep into his mother's final days and hours entails a very real risk.

Because the person who killed her could be someone he loves.






New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub returns to Mundy’s Landing — a small town where bygone bloodshed has become big business.

Hair neatly braided, hands serenely clasped, eyes closed, the young woman appeared to be sound asleep. But the peaceful tableau was a madman’s handiwork. Beneath the covers, her white nightgown was spattered with blood. At daybreak, a horrified family would discover her corpse tucked into their guest room. The cunning killer would strike again and again before vanishing into the mists of time.

A century ago, the Sleeping Beauty Murders terrified picturesque Mundy’s Landing. The victims, like the killer, were never identified. Now, on the hundredth anniversary, the Historical Society’s annual “Mundypalooza” offers a hefty reward for solving the notorious case.

Annabelle Bingham, living in one of the three Murder Houses, can’t escape the feeling that her family is being watched — and not just by news crews and amateur sleuths. She’s right. Having unearthed the startling truth behind the horrific crimes, a copycat killer is about to reenact them — beneath the mansard roof of Annabelle’s dream home.







There's a body in the bookshop in this latest novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the Magical Bakery mysteries.

When the bookshop next to the Honeybee Bakery hosts a signing for a Savannah radio celebrity's new self-help book, magical baker Katie Lightfoot is happy to provide some delectable desserts. A big crowd has turned out for the event, curious about the book (and maybe to sample some goodies), but the final chapter comes too soon for the author when she is found dead at the event.

The prime suspect is Angie Kissel, a former witch whose familiar was once Katie’s own terrier, Mungo. Katie is at first hesitant to help, afraid of losing the little dog who has become so important to her. But after a little nudge from Mungo himself, Katie decides to try to conjure up the real killer — before Angie gets served.

RECIPES INCLUDED!

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Amber Bardan's FOR HER PROTECTION Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Amber Bardan here at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Amber and Tasty Book Tours for allowing me to join your For Her Protection Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Amber!




For Your Protection
By: Amber Bardan
Releasing July 19, 2016
Self-Published

Blurb

You shouldn't mix business with pleasure.

Yet pleasure seems to be the one and only thing on Charlize's mind the moment Connor steamrolls into her life. Desperate to save her family company, prove she's more than a pretty face and worthy of being CEO, pleasure is a distraction she can't afford.

She doesn't want a bodyguard, especially not one whose caveman heroics kick her libido into hyperdrive. Surrounded by enemies, she's not sure if Connor is a man she can trust.

Connor knows better than to get personal with clients. Yet there couldn't be anything more personal about his feelings for Charlize. He'll win her trust, preferably one orgasm at a time.

With Connor in her office, her home, driving her to sweet, merciless distraction, there's only so long Charlize can resist his sexy, dominant brand of protection.

WARNING: This is an Amber Bardan Alpha Romance, featuring one dirty-talking hero obsessed with his heroine, and a Happily Ever After. No cliffhangers.

Link to Follow Blast: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2016/06/for-your-protection-by-amber-bardan.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725723-for-her-protection

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Her-Protection-Alpha-Romance-ebook/dp/B01HXBV0K2?ie=UTF8&ref_=asap_bc





Author Info

After spending years imagining fictional adventures, Amber Bardan finally found a way to turn daydreaming into a productive habit. She now spends her time in a coffee-fueled adrenaline haze, writing romance with a thriller edge.

She lives with her husband and children in semi-rural Australia, where if she peers outside at the right moment she might just see a kangaroo bounce by.

Amber is an award winning writer, Amazon Bestselling Author, and member of Romance Writers of Australia, Melbourne Romance Writers Guild, and Writers Victoria.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

Website: http://www.amberabardan.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amberabardan/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/amberabardan

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7516813.Amber_A_Bardan






Rafflecopter Giveaway

(Digital Set of DIDN’T I WARN YOU and DIDN’T YOU PROMISE, book 1 and 2 in the Bad for You Series)

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c81091/?






She came right at him.

Connor leaned back in his seat. Shit. You’d think five-years in the job, he’d have more discretion.

But what red-blooded man wouldn’t stare at her?

She weaved between tables, hips swaying, full-fucking-irresistible cleavage peeking out from her blouse.

He kept his eyes on his glass, even if his peripheral was having a feast.

“Hi.” Her voice was as lush as the rest of her.

He’d fucked up. She’d noticed him watching and now there’d be a confrontation. If he was compromised, then he’d be forced to take matters to the next level.

He looked up.

Mother-fucker.

Jet-black hair flowed over her shoulders. He’d seen her tug that hair from its ponytail and fluff it. Cheeky, attention-seeking minx. It hadn’t been so bad from over there. He hadn’t been able to smell her as he did now. He hadn’t known she used vanilla scented shampoo then. His fists curled. But her hair wasn’t the problem, even if he kept imagining it curled around his fist. The problem was her wide, almond-shaped eyes the color of butter warming in a pan, melting his brain.

“What?”

She flinched, smile slipping, then reached to her front. He tried to stay still, damned hard work, because she reached between those magnificent tits and pulled out a bill. “I’ll give you ten dollars if you kiss me right now?”

He glanced at the money in her hand. Un-freaking-believable. “Do I look like a gigolo to you, woman?”

“No, I imagine the scowl would be terrible for business.” She laughed, the husky sound of it had his muscles clenching. “But I saw you looking at me, and I really need you to kiss me, so if the money’s offensive, would you just do it for free?”

Kiss her for free?

It’d cost if he kissed her — no way out of that, but he’d be the one paying.

She held his gaze, then sighed and squeezed the bill back into her top. “Never mind, I must have misunderstood.”

Her big eyes went soft and sad.

Fuck, did she do that on purpose? Did anyone ever actually say no to her?

He scooted back his chair. Well, if was a kiss she wanted, he’d damned well show her how it’s done.

Her lips parted as he rose, and her head tipped back. She gulped. He was used to that. Little women like her realizing they’d bitten off more than they could chew. She probably hadn’t noticed when he’d been seated that he’d have over a foot on her.

Maybe he’d have gone slow, moved in gently, if she hadn’t demanded that last part — right now.

The cheek.

He took a step. She swallowed again. This time he let himself take in the sight of her curves — he let his gaze trail all over her.

He reached for her shoulder, but the next thing he knew he’d buried his hand in that hair he’d been fantasizing about since he clamped eyes on her.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Cate Beauman's Bodyguards of LA County Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Cate Beauman here at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Cate and CBB Book Promotions for allowing me to join your Bodyguards of LA Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Cate!






About FALLING FOR SARAH

Widow Sarah Johnson struggled to pick up the pieces after her life was ripped apart. After two years of grieving, she's found contentment in her thriving business as photographer to Hollywood's A-list and in raising her angel-faced daughter, Kylee... until bodyguard and long-time friend Ethan Cooke changes everything with a searing moonlight kiss.

Sarah's world turns upside down as she struggles with her unexpected attraction to Ethan and the guilt of betraying her husband's memory. But when blue roses and disturbing notes start appearing on her doorstep, she has no choice but to lean on Ethan as he fights to save her from a stalker that won't stop until he has what he prizes most.

Only 0.99 for a limited time!

Amazon | Barnes&Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Paperback






About SAVING SOPHIE

Jewelry designer Sophie Burke has fled Maine for the anonymity of the big city. She’s starting over with a job she tolerates and a grungy motel room she calls home on the wrong side of town, but anything is better than the nightmare she left behind.

Stone McCabe is Ethan Cooke Security’s brooding bad boy more interested in keeping to himself than anything else — until the gorgeous blond with haunted violet eyes catches his attention late one rainy night.

Stone reluctantly gives Sophie a hand only to quickly realize that the shy beauty with the soft voice and pretty smile has something to hide. Tangled up in her secrets, Stone offers Sophie a solution that has the potential to free her from her problems once and for all — or jeopardize both of their lives.

Amazon | Barnes&Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Paperback


Excerpt


She pressed her lips to his again, wanting to feel him, needing to give comfort.

Hesitating, he groaned, meeting her demands with fever, diving deep and playing his tongue against hers. He gripped her hips tighter as he nipped at her bottom lip with his teeth. Thunder crashed, and he pushed her away. “Damn it, Sarah.”

Confused, frustrated, vibrating with need, she advanced on him again. “Why are you angry? I want to kiss you. I want you to kiss me.”

“No.” He paced away and back to stand in front of her. “This isn’t going to happen. We’re friends, only friends. I’m not interested in anything more.”

Flashes of the night at the resort ran through her mind. And the way he kissed her just now told her a different story. “I don’t believe that. You’re the one who changed things in the first place.”

“Well, now I’m changing them back.”

Holding his impenetrable gaze, she scoffed and walked to the bathroom, slamming the door behind her. She moved to the sink, watching the rain pour through the reflection in the mirror as lightning brightened the sky. Shaking her head, she rested her hands on the countertop and closed her eyes. Was she wrong? It had been so long since she‘d dated. She had no idea how to play the game, but this wasn’t a game. She wanted Ethan, but he said he didn’t want her. She sighed out a weary breath, trying to figure her way through his mixed signals. Her instincts, although rusty, told her he did want her back, so why was he doing this?

“I don’t know,” she said in despair as she turned on the water and took a cloth from the ornate silver rack. She dampened the soft fabric, glancing in the mirror again, and froze, staring at a man’s tuxedoed silhouette filling the window behind her as he held a blue rose in his hand.

Her breath rushed in and out as she tried to scream, but the strangled sound wouldn’t leave her throat. Whirling, she staggered to the door, struggling with the handle, never taking her eyes from the man’s.

In the next spark of light, he slammed a paper up against the window, the crack of his gloved hand against the glass echoing like a gun blast.

She made out the words “Now Bitch” before the red marker ran like blood in the rain as she frantically yanked at the knob.

“Sarah.” Ethan struggled with the door as she finally freed the lock. “Sarah.” He whipped it open, and she fell against him, trying to catch her breath.

He pulled her closer, wrapping a protective arm around her. “What’s wrong? What is it?”

“He — He’s out there.” Her whole body trembled as she pointed to the window, but there was no one there. “He’s wearing a mask. It was him. I know it was him.” She gasped for air, clutching at his jacket. “Get me out of here, Ethan. I can’t be here anymore.” Her legs buckled as she tried to flee.

He picked her up and brought her to the library, sitting down with her in a chair. “You’re okay. It’s all right. I’m right here,” he murmured while he gripped her tight as she curled against him and clung.

It was too dark, too quiet as her ragged breathing and the rain pounding on the roof filled the room. She needed people and bright light. Her eyes darted from window to window, certain the man was still watching. “He’s still here. I can feel it. He’s laughing while he watches me.”

“He won’t touch you.” Rage edged his voice as he lifted her and hurried up a flight of stairs. “We’ll go in here.” He brought her to an office and set her on a couch in the dark, closing the curtains before he turned on a light.

Blinking rapidly, she looked up as Ethan pulled his phone from the leather holder on his belt and made a call.

“Tucker, it’s Ethan Cooke. I have Sarah with me at my parents’ house. He was here.” 





About the Author

International bestselling author Cate Beauman is known for her full-length, action-packed romantic suspense series, The Bodyguards of L.A. County. Her novels have been nominated for the National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award, National Indie Excellence Award, Golden Quill Award, Writers Touch Award, and have been named Readers Favorite Five Star books. In 2015, JUSTICE FOR ABBY was selected as the Readers' Favorite International Book Award Gold Medalist, while SAVING SOPHIE took the Silver Medal. SAVING SOPHIE was also selected as the 2015 Readers Crown Award winner for Romantic Suspense and FALLING FOR SARAH received the silver medal for the 2014 Readers' Favorite Awards.Cate makes her home in North Carolina with her husband, two boys, and their St. Bernards, Bear and Jack.

Cate makes her home in North Carolina with her husband, two boys, and their St. Bernards, Bear and Jack. Currently Cate is working on Deceiving Bella, the eleventh novel in her popular Bodyguards series. For information on Cate's new releases, monthly giveaways, and upcoming events, sign up for her newsletter at: http://www.catebeauman.com/author/home.html#!newsletter-sign-up/c9td

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
 
GIVEAWAY

$25 Amazon Gift Card (INT)

Ends August 3rd

Prizing is provided by the authors, hosts are not responsible. Must be 13 or older to enter and have parental permission if under 18. Void where prohibited by law. No purchase necessary to win.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d3474665518/?

Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads (July 18)




 Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads


Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books you read last week and books being read this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  The Obsession - Nora Roberts
2.  Poisonous - Allison Brennan

Weekly Read:

1.  Extreme Prey - John Sandford
2.  Slow Burn - Robert B. Parker

Sunday, July 17, 2016

The Games (Private)

 


I've finished "The Games" the 6th book in his Private series by James Patterson.

Product Description

Rio has spent years preparing to host the world during the Olympic games -- but they didn't prepare for this.


Rio de Janeiro, Brazil -- home to beautiful white-sand beaches, gorgeous women, stunning natural beauty, and the world's largest Carnival celebration--knows how to throw a party. So it's a natural choice to host the biggest spectacles in sports -- the World Cup and the Olympics. To ensure that the games go off without a hitch, the organizers turn to Jack Morgan, the unflappable head of the renowned international security and consulting firm Private. But when events are this exclusive, someone's bound to get left off the guest list.

Two years after the action nearly spilled from the field to the stands during soccer's championship match, Jack is back in Rio for the Olympics. But before the cauldron is even lit, the only thing more intense than the competition is the security risks. When prominent clients he's supposed to be protecting disappear, and bodies mysteriously start to litter the streets, Jack is drawn deep into the heart of a ruthless underworld populated by disaffected residents trying to crash the world's biggest party. As the opening ceremonies near, with the world watching in horror, Jack must sprint to the finish line to defuse a threat that could decimate Rio and turn the games from a joyous celebration into a deadly spectacle.

About the Author

James Patterson received the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community at the 2015 National Book Awards. He holds the Guinness World Record for the most #1 New York Times bestsellers, and his books have sold more than 325 million copies worldwide. A tireless champion of books and reading, Patterson has created a new children's book imprint, JIMMY Patterson, whose mission is simple: 'We want every kid who finishes a JIMMY Book to say: "PLEASE GIVE ME ANOTHER BOOK.'" He has donated more than one million books to students and soldiers and has over four hundred Teacher Eduction Scholarships at twenty-four colleges and universities. He has also donated millions to independent bookstores and school libraries. Patterson will be investing proceeds from the sales of JIMMY Patterson Books in pro-reading initiatives.

Product Details
Series: Private (Book 6)
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (June 27, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316407119
ISBN-13: 978-0316407113


My Review:

4/5

Library Haul 2016 (July 17 - 23)


Here's the list of books I picked up from the library this week:

Hardcover:

1.  Slow Burn - Robert B. Parker
2.  Murder in an Irish Village - Carlene O'Connor
3.  The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum - Kirsten Weiss

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail (July 16)


Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week. 






LOVE IS AN ACT OF BRAVERY

Retired Navy SEAL Alex Rojas is putting his life back together, one piece at a time. Being a single dad to his young daughter and working at Hope's Crossing Kennels to help rehab a former guard dog, he struggles every day to control his PTSD. But when Elisa Hall shows up, on the run and way too cautious, she unleashes his every protective instinct.

Elisa's past never stays in her rearview mirror for long, and she refuses to put anyone else in danger. But with Alex guarding her so fiercely yet looking at her so tenderly, she's never felt safer . . . or more terrified that the secrets she keeps could put countless people in grave peril. The only way for both to fully escape their demons will take the ultimate act of courage: letting go and learning to trust each other.

Friday, July 15, 2016

Cecy Robson's LET ME Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Excerpt

 


I am so excited to have Cecy Robson here at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Excerpt.

Thanks Cecy and Tasty Book Tours for allowing me to join your Let Me Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Cecy!






Let Me
The O’Brien Family Book Two
By: Cecy Robson
Released April 19, 2016
Self-Published

Blurb


Once he was broken beyond repair. Now this MMA contender is fighting to be a better man — for her. RT Book Reviews proclaims that the O’Brien Family series from award-winning author Cecy Robson “has the hottest brothers ever!” And in Let Me, it is Finn’s turn to discover how love can heal the deepest wounds.

A mixed martial arts star on the rise, Finn O’Brien dismantles his opponents with brutal precision. And yet beneath his fierce persona, Finn is raw from a trauma he’s buried for years until the day his deep-rooted rage erupts and lands him in court-mandated therapy. Finn’s not one to bare his soul, but if talking it out means meeting beautiful women like Sol Marieles, he’ll give it a shot.

Sol is working toward her master’s degree in psychology, and already she feels like she’s in over her head. With an important internship on the line and a scary family situation demanding her attention, the last thing Sol needs is Finn around to distract her. The man is ripped and seriously sexy yet it’s his troubled side that warns her to keep her distance. But their attraction is intense, and he clearly has the heat to see how far and fast their passion takes them.

Alone, Finn and Sol have been fighting to find happiness in their lives. Together, there’s no stopping them as they face their greatest challenges — not in the ring, but in their hearts.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28676069-let-me

Buy Links: Amazon

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1TRpfQz





Excerpt

Easton grins. He thinks I’m afraid of him. He thinks he has me where he wants me. But fear is an emotion I don’t allow myself to entertain. Fear gets you hurt and rips you apart till you think there’s nothing left.

I dodge out of reach. He scowls and takes another swing. This one gets close enough to my jaw to create a breeze that whips across my skin.

“Finn,” my brother Killian barks from the side. “Take him out now.”

He’s worried about me. So is my family. But now’s not the time to think about them. I keep my hands up as I edge away, letting Easton think I’m backing down, that I’m tired and need to catch my breath.

I sidestep when he lunges forward, avoiding his next swing and use the momentum to drop my head and nail him in the temple with a roundhouse kick.

Like I said, Easton’s fast.

Too bad for him I’m a little bit faster.

The kick is my signature move, as natural for me as the next breath. He goes down like I planned. But in the Octagon you don’t stop just because your opponent collapses like timber. You charge forward. You show him what you’re made of. And you prove just how tough you really are.

That muffled screaming, isn’t so muffled anymore. The crowd loses their shit as I pounce, my blows nailing Easton in the face until the ref’s arms hook beneath mine as he hauls me off. I back away, my fists up because I already know I won.

I should do a back flip or some crazy shit to incite the crowd. This is it. My time has come to own it. But the good things aren’t as great as they can be. Not with the memories that haunt me. And not with the anger they stir.

Killian rushes in as the medic wipes down my face. I’m bleeding from the punch Easton caught me with at the beginning of the round. I didn’t think it was that bad, but the way the ringside medic is pressing the towel against my head clues me in the gash isn’t closing like it should.

“I’m going to have to stitch you up, Fury,” he mumbles.

“I figured,” I tell him.

Kill pats my back. “Good job,” he says.

Maybe he believes it, but I don’t miss the concern in his voice. He thinks I took too many unnecessary hits. I can’t really argue, seeing how it’s true.

He doesn’t understand that I don’t feel those strikes the way I should. Hell, I don’t think I’ve felt anything the way I should in a long time. Not like I used to. I try to tell myself that maybe that’ a good thing. That numbness is better than pain. But I’m not so convinced anymore, and neither is my family. I try to shrug it off like I’m fine. Except given the way they’ve been eyeing me, I’m not fooling anyone.

I’m scaring everyone around me. And it sucks. Not only because I don’t want them scared, but mostly because I don’t know how to stop it.  





Author Info

Cecy Robson is a new adult and contemporary author of the Shattered Past series, the O’Brien Family novels and upcoming Carolina Beach novels, as well as the award-winning author of the Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A 2016 double nominated RITA®finalist for Once Pure and Once Kissed, Cecy is a recovering Jersey girl living in the South who enjoys carbs way too much, and exercise way too little. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, you can typically find her on her laptop silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Website: http://www.cecyrobson.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Cecy.Robson.Author

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cecyrobson

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6177334.Cecy_Robson




 

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books Wish List

 
Please list the books from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books, I'm Waiting For:  

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Ellie Alexander's Caught Bread Handed Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Guest Post and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Ellie Alexander here at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Guest Post and Giveaway.

Thanks Ellie and CBB Book Promotions for allowing me to join your Caught Bread Handed Tour!

Please take it away, Ellie!




About the Book

Welcome to Torte — a friendly, small-town family bakeshop where the oven is heating up as high as the body count.

Jules Capshaw is still chewing over her husband Carlos’s return to Ashland, Oregon. Could there be too many cooks in the kitchen? Whatever is stirring between those two will have to wait. Despite the Oregon Shakespeare Festival being dark for the winter, the bakeshop is bustling, the dough is rolling, and there’s no rest for the weary especially when murder is thrown into the mix.

When Mindy Nolan, the owner of a new restaurant in town, turns up dead, the batter at hand thickens. Jules knows that there was bad blood between Mindy and others in town, and tracking the killer could prove to be an unwelcome treat. And to top it all off, there’s Carlos, who is pleading — with those delicious dark eyes and sexy Spanish accent — for Jules to take him back. Is home where the heart is or will she make a fresh start and risk getting burned?

Goodreads | Amazon | Vintage Books (for signed copies!)

Excerpt

I sighed and brushed flour from my hands. Perfectly round balls of bread dough lined the island. I placed them in greased bread pans, covered them with thin dishtowels and placed them on the industrial steel rack near the oven to rise. The heat emanating from the oven would give the yeast a boost.

Sundays tend to be a later start for our regular customers. Unlike the early morning weekday rush, our busiest hours on Sunday are around brunch. Locals come in for a late morning coffee and pastry with the Sunday paper. I wanted to make something hearty and comforting to serve this morning, and I knew just the thing.

On cold winter mornings, my dad would bake a creamy potato casserole. With the bread rising, I gathered all the items I needed to recreate his casserole, with my own spin. I started by scrubbing russet potatoes. Once they were cleaned I pricked holes in them with a fork and dropped them into a pot of boiling water. They would boil until tender.

Next I chopped yellow onions and sautéed them in butter. I heated cans of creamed of chicken soup with our homemade chicken stock, and added the onions and butter to the milky mixture. I let that simmer for a few minutes while I checked on my rising bread dough.

The round balls had stretched in the bread pans. I poked each one with my finger. The dough sprang back with every touch. My bread was ready to bake. I slid the pans into the oven, set the timer, and returned to my casserole.

Steam funneled from the pot of boiling potatoes. It reminded me of the fog outside. I turned the heat off and drained the potatoes. Once they had cooled I would peel and grate them. The kitchen windows began to drip with sweat and the smell of bread baking made me smile. This is how Sunday mornings should start.

I grabbed a cup of coffee and a block of sharp cheddar cheese and two pints of sour cream from the refrigerator. This casserole was not low in fat or milk products, but if it turned out the way I remembered, it would be a savory and creamy accompaniment to our sweeter offerings.

The coffee wasn’t quite as strong as the pot I brewed at home. I used a breakfast blend. It’s a customer favorite—a light roast with a bright finish.

I sipped it as I began peeling the potato skins. I shredded them into a large plastic bowl in the sink. Mom uses most of our fruit and vegetable waste for her garden at home. She takes home the plastic bowl every night and dumps it into her composting bin. As Torte’s menu continues to expand, her garden might have to as well.

After the potatoes had been skinned, I grated them and the cheddar cheese into another bowl. Then I poured the soup mixture over the top. I incorporated the cheese, soup and potatoes and added both pints of sour cream, a handful of chopped fresh chives, and sprinkled in pepper and salt. The dish smelled exactly like I remembered it.

I poured the potatoes into two ceramic casserole pans and slid them in the oven with the bread. When Sterling arrived, I would have him fry some thick-cut bacon and breakfast sausage links to serve with the casserole.

My mouth watered as the cheesy potatoes began to bubble in the oven. The timer beeped to alert me that the bread was done. I pulled on oven mitts and removed the loaves of bread. They had nice golden crusts and had risen a few inches over the top each pan. 

About the Author

Ellie Alexander is a Pacific Northwest native who spends ample time testing pastry recipes in her home kitchen or at one of the many famed coffeehouses nearby. When she’s not coated in flour, you’ll find her outside exploring hiking trails and trying to burn off calories consumed in the name of research. Follow her on Facebook or Twitter to learn more.

Website | Twitter | Facebook






GIVEAWAY

Signed copies of all 4 books in the Bakeshop Mysteries, Cupcake tea towel and pot holder, Love cake topper, Bakeshop page flags, Assortment of gourmet lemonade and Triple Chocolate Chunk cookie mix.

US only.

Ends July 20th

Must be 13 or older to enter and have parental permission if under 18. Void where prohibited by law. No purchase necessary to win.

Rafflecopter


http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d3474665517/?

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.