Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection are:




Prey: A Novel [Hardcover]

Product Description

In this captivating novel of romantic suspense, New York Times bestselling author Linda Howard brings us deep into the wild, where a smart and sexy outdoor guide and her ruggedly handsome competitor must join forces to survive—and avoid becoming what they never expected to be:

PREY


Thirty-two-year-old Angie Powell has always spoken her mind, but in the presence of Dare Callahan she nurses a simmering rage. After all, why give Dare the satisfaction of knowing he can push her buttons and push her to the edge?

Three years ago, Dare returned home to rural western Montana and opened a hunting business to rival Angie’s. Complicating matters is the fact that Dare has asked Angie out (not once but twice) and has given her a gift of butterflies in the process. Angie has no patience for butterflies. They only lead to foolish decisions. And now the infuriatingly handsome Iraq war vet has siphoned away Angie’s livelihood, forcing her to close up shop.

Before Angie is to leave town, she organizes one last trip into the wilderness with a client and his guest, who wants to bag a black bear. But the adrenaline-fueled adventure turns deadly when Angie witnesses a cold-blooded murder and finds herself on the wrong side of a loaded gun. Before the killer can tie up this attractive loose end, a bear comes crashing through the woods — changing the dark game completely.

Luckily, Dare is camping nearby and hears the shots. Forced together for their very survival, Angie and Dare must confront hard feelings, a blinding storm, and a growing attraction — while being stalked by a desperate killer and a ferocious five-hundred-pound beast. And neither will stop until they reach their prey.

Product Details
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books (September 6, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 034550691X
ISBN-13: 978-0345506917




Revenge at Bella Terra: A Scarlet Deception Novel [Paperback]

Product Description

Eli Di Luca lives in Bella Terra, but now the family vineyard he runs is in financial trouble. Enter Italian magnate Tamosso Conte, who makes a proposition Eli can't refuse: marry his daughter, and Conte will solve Eli's money problems.

Unfortunately, the beautiful Chloe has no intention of getting married without a fight. Soon she discovers Eli's been keeping secrets from her, and the truth will put them both in mortal danger.

Product Details
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Signet Select (September 6, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451413105
ISBN-13: 978-0451413109




River's End [Paperback]

Product Description

Olivia's parents were one of Hollywood's golden couples-until the night her father destroyed their home and took her mother away forever. Now, years later, Olivia is forced to recall those horrifying events and discover the truth about her childhood.

Product Details
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Berkley Trade; Reprint edition (September 6, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0425242943
ISBN-13: 978-0425242940



Sweet Justice: A Last Chance Rescue Novel [Mass Market Paperback]
Product Description

Honor Stone is a young, idealistic FBI agent when her path collides with Seth Cavanaugh. For a girl who has never walked on the wild side, the dark and dangerous Seth is a temptation she can’t refuse. But then Seth walks out the door and out of her life. Five years later, Honor is an operative with the elite Last Chance Rescue organization and Seth is a desperate ex-cop searching for his missing niece — one of many young women who have mysteriously vanished from college campuses. Going undercover, Honor will attract the maniacal cult leader behind the kidnappings and find a way to work with Seth — while steering clear of the passion and need that’s just one touch away from explosion. Seth knows he had all the right reasons for the wrong he did five years ago. And from the moment he sees her — and takes her in his arms again — this former undercover man will risk everything for one more chance with Honor.

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books (September 6, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345524071
ISBN-13: 978-0345524072

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

New Releases 2011 (Aug 30)




In Seconds [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

They're back …
Laurel Hodges has changed her identity twice. She's been on the run for the past four years, trying to outdistance the gang members who blame her for the death of one of their own. She's finally found peace and stability in the small town of Pineview, Montana. But just when Laurel thinks she and her children are safe…the nightmare starts all over again.

The Crew, a ruthless prison gang with ties to Laurel's brother, will never forget and they'll never forgive. And now that they've finally tracked her down, they'll stop at nothing.

Sheriff Myles King, who happens to live next door with his thirteen–year–old daughter, appoints himself Laurel's personal guardian. His growing attraction to her could change his life — Myles is beginning to picture marriage and family. But it could also end his life. If he can't save her, everything he's built, everything he wants, could be destroyed. In seconds…

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Mira (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778312445
ISBN-13: 978-0778312444

Snapped [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

SOPHIE BARRETT THINKS SHE’S LUCKY TO BE ALIVE. SHE MAY BE DEAD WRONG.

On a sweltering summer afternoon, Sophie Barrett walks into a nightmare. A sniper has opened fire on a college campus. When the carnage is over, three people — plus the shooter — are dead and dozens more are injured. Sophie escapes virtually unscathed. Yet as details emerge from the investigation, she becomes convinced that this wasn’t the random, senseless act it appeared to be. No one wants to believe her — not the cops, not her colleagues at the Delphi Center crime lab, and definitely not Jonah Macon, the homicide detective who’s already saved her life once.

Jonah has all kinds of reasons for hoping Sophie is mistaken. Involving himself with a key witness could derail an already messy investigation, not to mention jeopardize his career. But Sophie is as determined and fearless as she is sexy. If he can’t resist her, he can at least swear to protect her. Because if Sophie is right, she’s made herself the target of a killer without a conscience.  And the real terror is only just beginning . . . .


Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Pocket Star; Original edition (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1451617364
ISBN-13: 978-1451617368




Riptide [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description


Princess Bria Visconti demands the return of the money her brother rashly invested in Cutter Salvage. Treasure hunter Nick Cutter is too reckless, too arrogant — and far too handsome — for his own good. But he can’t charm his way out of this one. Bria plans to make Nick pay up even if she has to board his boat, don a wet suit, and dive for the treasure herself… 
Nick sees Bria as a beautiful but spoiled princess who’s never done a day’s work in her pampered life. But once they set sail for the dive site, and the legendary fortune in gold the wreck carries, Nick begins to see Bria in a new light. This princess may be out of her depth, but she’s ready to take on the hidden danger and excitement a treasure hunt stirs to the surface. Together they must fight unexpected enemies — and reveal their darkest secrets — before they’re pulled into a rip current of danger.
 
Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312371985
ISBN-13: 978-0312371982





Sweet Justice: A Last Chance Rescue Novel [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

LIVE FOR HONOR. DIE FOR LOVE


Honor Stone is a young, idealistic FBI agent when her path collides with Seth Cavanaugh. For a girl who has never walked on the wild side, the dark and dangerous Seth is a temptation she can’t refuse. But then Seth walks out the door and out of her life. Five years later, Honor is an operative with the elite Last Chance Rescue organization and Seth is a desperate ex-cop searching for his missing niece — one of many young women who have mysteriously vanished from college campuses. Going undercover, Honor will attract the maniacal cult leader behind the kidnappings and find a way to work with Seth — while steering clear of the passion and need that’s just one touch away from explosion. Seth knows he had all the right reasons for the wrong he did five years ago. And from the moment he sees her — and takes her in his arms again — this former undercover man will risk everything for one more chance with Honor

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books (September 6, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345524071
ISBN-13: 978-0345524072

Monday, August 29, 2011

New Release 2011 (Aug 29)

Kill Me If You Can

Product Description

Matthew Bannon, a poor art student living in New York City, finds a duffel bag filled with diamonds during a chaotic attack at Grand Central Station. Plans for a worry-free life with his gorgeous girlfriend Katherine fill his thoughts -- until he realizes that he is being hunted, and that whoever is after him won't stop until they have reclaimed the diamonds and exacted their revenge.

Trailing him is the Ghost, the world's greatest assassin, who has just pulled off his most high-profile hit: killing Walter Zelvas, a top member of the international Diamond Syndicate. There's only one small problem: the diamonds he was supposed to retrieve from Zelvas are missing. Now, the Ghost is on Bannon's trail -- but so is a rival assassin who would like nothing more than to make the Ghost disappear forever. From "America's #1 storyteller" (Forbes) comes a high-speed, high-stakes, winner-take-all thrill ride of adrenaline-fueled suspense. 

Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (Aug 29)


What Are You Reading is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Sheila from One Persons Journey: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com

Post the books you read last week, book currently being read and books you plan on finishing this week.

Last week I read:

1. Secrets of Bella Terra - Christina Dodd
2. Kiss Me, Kill Me - Maggie Shayne

I’m currently reading:

1. Snapped - Laura Griffin

Books I’m planning on reading this week:

1. Watch Me Die - Erica Spindler

Here's the link:

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-101

Friday, August 26, 2011

Book Blogger Hop #18

Book Blogger Hop

This Meme is hosted by Jennifer from Crazy for Books on Fridays. 

RULES:

Your blog should have content related to books, including, but not limited to book reviews.

1.  Before you add your link, you must post about the Hop on your blog and link directly back to THIS POST (not just my domain, but the direct post for the Hop).  The linky is going to review the link that you enter in your submission, looking for a link to this post on your blog.  If it doesn’t find one, your link will not be approved.  This is called back linking and I had to institute it because people were taking advantage of the Hop and getting some free advertising without promoting the Hop themselves.  You can read more about this here.

2. While you are creating your post, answer the following question (there’s a new prompt each week)!


“Non-book-related this week!! Do you have pets?”

Unfortunately I don't have any pets at the moment, though I do love animals!

3. Now it’s time to enter your blog link into the linky below (after the list of instructions!).

Instructions:

Click on: You are next – Click here to enter

A new page will open

In the “Link Title/Blog Title” box, please enter the NAME OF YOUR BLOG and in parentheses after your blog name, please state the main genre that you review (i.e. Crazy-for-Books (contemp. fiction))

In the “Link” box, please put a direct link to your blog hop post (i.e. http://crazy-for-books.com/2011/07/book-blogger-hop-722-725.html)

There is a note about the Back Link requirement. Please make sure you have linked back to this blog hop post in the post on your blog or your link will not be accepted! Did you read that important note I told you about at the top of the post?

Please enter your e-mail address in the box provided in case I need to contact you about your link submission.

The list is randomized, so your link will not appear in a specified order. If you are looking for your link, I suggest you do a Ctrl-F on your PC keyboard and type a few letters of your blog name so you can find it easily.

Follow My Blog #15



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature & Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this #FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES > Feature & Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host {Parajunkee.com} and (Alisoncanread.com}and any one else you want to follow on the list.

2. Follow our Featured Bloggers - Caught in the Pages and Jenni Elyse.

3. Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing.

4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments

5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can.

6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers

7. If your new to the Follow Friday Hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

The Friday Follow Features are ...

Caught in the Pages






I have always loved reading, even when I was little. I was the type who would be reading more than one book at a time, all the time, couldn't get my nose out of a book for anything. After growing up, life (aka husband, job, had a baby) caught up with me some and I just didn't read like I used to. I discovered other book blogs by chance and fell in love with the idea of sharing something I love with the world. I started my blog hoping that if nothing else, I would be motivated to keep reading and reading other blogs would help me to discover great new books.
I am constantly bugging my husband about books and even convinced him to buy me one instead of going to see Transformers 3 (I think I have an addiction).  I am either reading a book, reading about books, or lusting after books.  I also dream of owning a Kindle.  I love anything involving love (yep, just full of love here).  I put the smell of a book up there with the smell of fresh bread and the smell of coffee brewing (don't think I am weird).
Jenni Elyse



I started blogging four years ago because I wanted to talk about my life and interests. I did that for about three years. Then, about a year ago, I transformed my blog into a book blog because I was posting mostly about books anyway (reviews, author parties, book releases, etc.). I love gushing about my favorite books and sharing them with others. I read mostly YA, but I'll usually try anything as long as it sounds interesting. My favorite books are the Harry Potter series, the Twilight Saga, the Mortal Instruments series, The Hunger Games trilogy, Anna and the French Kiss, Clockwork Angel, Graceling, Fire, Shiver, The Dark Divine, The Lost Saint, Dune, You Are Special, and Fox in Socks.

I also enjoy writing, listening to music, watching movies and TV, going to school, playing any type of game (especially anything related to Zelda and Mario), aimlessly surfing the Internet, crocheting, knitting, playing the piano, learning and speaking foreign languages, doing origami, and hanging out with my family, cats, and friends.


Q. In some books like the Sookie Stackhouse series the paranormal creature in question "comes out of the closet" and makes itself known to the world. Which mythical creature do you wish this would happen with in real life?

Since I only read cozies, mystery thrillers and romantic suspense I haven't come across any mythical creatures, sorry!

18 and Over Book Blogger Hop #3




18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays and runs through the weekend hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines and Kelly at Secrets of a Book Lover.

The 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a Friday blog hop with the objective to find and visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the 18 and over crowd, and make new friends!

How to join in:

You should run a book blog that features and reviews mostly adult reads, some Y.A.’s are okay but 18 &  Over adult reads should be your majority.

Make a separate post for the 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow on your blog.

Copy the html for the button above and place it at the top of your post.

List and answer the ‘Question of the Week.’

Place your name and blog title in the linky below and the url for a direct link to your post

Visit the other blogs on the list. If you like what you see make sure to leave a comment and follow so the blog owner knows you stopped by and can return the favor. Following each blog is not mandatory but I know it is always appreciated, and if someone comments saying they’re a new follower it’s polite to follow back. It’s always nice to spread the 18 & Over Book Blog love!

Question of the Week:

Who is your favorite romance book couple?


Wow I have so many (Hard to name them all)!

Eve Dallas and Roarke (In Death Series)
Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn (Eve Duncan Series)
Niema Burdock and John Medina (All the Queen's Men)
Roanna Davenport and Webb Tallant (Shades of Twilight)
Rachel Grant and Johnny Harris (One Summer)

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Blood Stain (The Searchers) [Mass Market Paperback]



I've finished "Blood Stains" the first book in The Searchers series by Sharon Sala.

Product Description

At the reading of her father's will, Maria Slade receives shocking news — as a four-year-old, she'd witnessed her prostitute mother's murder and been taken into hiding by the well-meaning preacher who'd raised her as his own.

Maria remembers none of that. But now she's determined to flush her mother's killer out of hiding and discover the identity of her birth father. She heads to Tulsa, Oklahoma, where she meets Detective Bodie Scott.

Empathizing with this beautiful woman looking to find out who she really is, he opens the decades - old case file. Their investigation leads them down a dangerous path, where no one is what they seem. Where a father does not want to be found. And a murderer has "like mother, like daughter" in mind for Maria.

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Mira; Original edition (January 18, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778329410
ISBN-13: 978-0778329411


My Review:

Storyline: This book is about three daughters of a Montana rancher who discover the parents are not really their parents and they aren't related to each is a shock to all three.  This is Maria the middle daughter's story

The book opens at the funeral of the man they thought was their dad.  At the will reading they find out he has keep their parentage a secret from them but now believes they should know about who they are and where they have come from.  Maria is the horse trainer and she finds out she's the daughter of Sally a prostitute who is murdered. The killer doesn't not know that Sally's four-year old daughter Mary is a witness. As Sally is dying she asks her neighbor, a preacher, to raise Mary. He does. Mary aka Maria has blacked out memories of her life before the murder.  Now she travels to Tulsa, Oklahoma in hopes of regaining her memory, learning about her biological parents and avenging her mother's death with the help of Detective Bodie Scott.

Romance: The romance developed quickly but it was quite believable and you can tell they both started caring for one another.  I liked that Bodie admitted that he wanted Maria for all time and told her!  Glad that she accepted and didn't run away!

Killer: The killer would do anything to keep their secret and hires some professional killers to eliminate any loose ends.

4/5

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection are:



In Seconds [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

They're back …
Laurel Hodges has changed her identity twice. She's been on the run for the past four years, trying to outdistance the gang members who blame her for the death of one of their own. She's finally found peace and stability in the small town of Pineview, Montana. But just when Laurel thinks she and her children are safe…the nightmare starts all over again.

The Crew, a ruthless prison gang with ties to Laurel's brother, will never forget and they'll never forgive. And now that they've finally tracked her down, they'll stop at nothing.

Sheriff Myles King, who happens to live next door with his thirteen–year–old daughter, appoints himself Laurel's personal guardian. His growing attraction to her could change his life — Myles is beginning to picture marriage and family. But it could also end his life. If he can't save her, everything he's built, everything he wants, could be destroyed. In seconds…

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Mira (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778312445
ISBN-13: 978-0778312444

Snapped [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

SOPHIE BARRETT THINKS SHE’S LUCKY TO BE ALIVE. SHE MAY BE DEAD WRONG.

On a sweltering summer afternoon, Sophie Barrett walks into a nightmare. A sniper has opened fire on a college campus. When the carnage is over, three people — plus the shooter — are dead and dozens more are injured. Sophie escapes virtually unscathed. Yet as details emerge from the investigation, she becomes convinced that this wasn’t the random, senseless act it appeared to be. No one wants to believe her — not the cops, not her colleagues at the Delphi Center crime lab, and definitely not Jonah Macon, the homicide detective who’s already saved her life once.

Jonah has all kinds of reasons for hoping Sophie is mistaken. Involving himself with a key witness could derail an already messy investigation, not to mention jeopardize his career. But Sophie is as determined and fearless as she is sexy. If he can’t resist her, he can at least swear to protect her. Because if Sophie is right, she’s made herself the target of a killer without a conscience.  And the real terror is only just beginning . . . .


Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Pocket Star; Original edition (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1451617364
ISBN-13: 978-1451617368




Riptide [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description


Princess Bria Visconti demands the return of the money her brother rashly invested in Cutter Salvage. Treasure hunter Nick Cutter is too reckless, too arrogant — and far too handsome — for his own good. But he can’t charm his way out of this one. Bria plans to make Nick pay up even if she has to board his boat, don a wet suit, and dive for the treasure herself… 
Nick sees Bria as a beautiful but spoiled princess who’s never done a day’s work in her pampered life. But once they set sail for the dive site, and the legendary fortune in gold the wreck carries, Nick begins to see Bria in a new light. This princess may be out of her depth, but she’s ready to take on the hidden danger and excitement a treasure hunt stirs to the surface. Together they must fight unexpected enemies — and reveal their darkest secrets — before they’re pulled into a rip current of danger.
Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312371985
ISBN-13: 978-0312371982

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

New Releases 2011 (Aug 23)


Saint's Gate [Hardcover]
 
Product Description

When Emma Sharpe is summoned to a convent on the Maine coast, it's partly for her art crimes work with the FBI, partly because of her past with the religious order. At issue is a mysterious painting depicting scenes of Irish lore and Viking legends, and her family's connection to the work. But when the nun who contacted her is murdered, it seems legend is becoming deadly reality.

Colin Donovan is one of the FBI's most valuable assets — a deep–cover agent who prefers to go it alone. He's back home in Maine after wrapping up his latest mission, but his friend Father Bracken presents him with an intrigue of murder, international art heists and a convent's long–held secrets that is too tempting to resist. As the danger spirals ever closer, Colin is certain of only one thing — the very intriguing Emma Sharp is at the center of it all.

A ruthless killer has Emma and Colin in the crosshairs, plunging them into a race against time and drawing them deeper into a twisted legacy of betrayal and deceit.

Product Details
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Mira (August 23, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778312356
ISBN-13: 978-0778312352





Deep Disclosure [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description

After spending years in prison under deep cover, black ops agent Tucker Flynn joins A-Tac, an elite CIA unit masquerading as faculty at an Ivy League college. Nothing can shake him - except a vulnerable young woman marked for death.

DUAL DECEPTION

When Tucker is assigned to protect-and secretly investigate - Alexis Markham, he expects a routine mission. But this mysterious beauty has a past even darker than his: her father created a horrifying new biochemical weapon - and was murdered to keep it secret.

Alexis has spent the last decade racing to stay one step ahead of the shadowy operatives who will stop at nothing to possess her father's formula. She can trust no one, not even her handsome new bodyguard. But the heat that flares between them is impossible to resist. Will giving in to passion bring her the safety she's always craved, or will her love for Tucker draw him into a killer's sights?

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Forever (August 23, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0446582921
ISBN-13: 978-0446582926

Monday, August 22, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (Aug 22)


What Are You Reading is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Sheila from One Persons Journey: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com

Post the books you read last week, book currently being read and books you plan on finishing this week.

Last week I read:

1. When You Dare - Lori Foster
2. Blood Stains - Sharon Sala

I’m currently reading:

1. Secrets of Bella Terra - Christina Dodd

Books I’m planning on reading this week:

1. Kiss Me, Kill Me - Maggie Shayne

Here's the link:

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-100

Sunday, August 21, 2011

When You Dare (Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor) [Mass Market Paperback]


I've finished "When You Dare" the first book in her Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series by Lori Foster.

Product Description

Professional mercenary Dare Macintosh lives by one hard and fast rule: business should never be personal. If a cause appeals to him and the price is right, he'll take the mission he's offered. But then the lovely Molly Alexander asks him to help her track down the men who'd had her kidnapped — and for the first time, Dare's tempted to combine work with pleasure.

Fiercely independent, Molly vows to trust no one until she's uncovered the truth. Could the enemy be her powerful estranged father? The ex-fiancé who still holds a grudge? Or the not-so-shy fan of her bestselling novels? As the danger heats up around them, the only anchor Molly has is Dare himself. But what she feels for him just might be the most frightening thing of all ….

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: HQN Books (April 26, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0373775717
ISBN-13: 978-0373775712



My Review:

Molly was abducted and taken to Tijuana by sex slave traders. She's not the typical type of girl slavers really go after.  She's older than the other girls and not as attractive. Molly is a very successful romantic suspense author who lives quietly.

Dare is on a mission to rescue his best friends sister from slave traders when he also finds Molly, beaten, abused and being held separately from the other kidnapped girls. He knows something isn't right and after the rescue mission is completed Dare is determined to find out who had Molly kidnapped and why. His sense of honor and his attraction to Molly fuels his determination to see that the person or persons responsible for hurting Molly will pay.

Dare is a good and very honorable man but he can be quite ruthless at times.  When it comes to his job he has no problem shooting and killing if it's necessary.  He's definitely a take charge kind of alpha male and Molly realizes she feel very safe with him and Chris.

Molly is a very independent person but she was showing very uncharacteristic traits like she was more worried about being a very polite house guest and making sure she didn't step over any bounds and stayed out everyone's way.

I really enjoyed the friendship between Dare and Chris and Dare and his girls!  We also get to meet his friend Trace and Trace's sister Alani.  I really enjoyed the bantering between Dare and Chris and Chris and Molly! 

5/5

Library Haul 2011 (Aug 21 - 27)

Here's the book list I picked up from the library this week:

Hardcover:

1.  Watch Me Die - Erica Spindler

What books/manga did you pick up from the library this week?

Saturday, August 20, 2011

In the Mail Saturday 2011 (Aug 20)


In the Mail Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.




Snapped [Mass Market Paperback] - Received Monday
Product Description

SOPHIE BARRETT THINKS SHE’S LUCKY TO BE ALIVE. SHE MAY BE DEAD WRONG.

On a sweltering summer afternoon, Sophie Barrett walks into a nightmare. A sniper has opened fire on a college campus. When the carnage is over, three people — plus the shooter — are dead and dozens more are injured. Sophie escapes virtually unscathed. Yet as details emerge from the investigation, she becomes convinced that this wasn’t the random, senseless act it appeared to be. No one wants to believe her — not the cops, not her colleagues at the Delphi Center crime lab, and definitely not Jonah Macon, the homicide detective who’s already saved her life once.

Jonah has all kinds of reasons for hoping Sophie is mistaken. Involving himself with a key witness could derail an already messy investigation, not to mention jeopardize his career. But Sophie is as determined and fearless as she is sexy. If he can’t resist her, he can at least swear to protect her. Because if Sophie is right, she’s made herself the target of a killer without a conscience.  And the real terror is only just beginning . . . .


Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Pocket Star; Original edition (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1451617364
ISBN-13: 978-1451617368




Pleating for Mercy (Magical Dressmaking Mystery, Book 1) [Paperback]

Product Description 

All the Cassidy women possess special gifts. Harlow Jane Cassidy's is creating beautiful dresses. But she's about to discover secrets in her own family and another gift-one that can reach beyond the grave ....

When her great-grandmother passes away, Harlow leaves her job as a Manhattan fashion designer and moves back to Bliss, Texas. But soon after she opens Buttons & Bows, a custom dressmaking boutique in the old farmhouse she inherited, Harlow begins to feel an inexplicable presence ....

One of her first clients is her old friend Josie, who needs a gown for her upcoming wedding. But when Josie's boss turns up dead, it starts to look as if the bride-to-be may be wearing handcuffs instead of a veil. Suddenly, Josie needs a lot more from Harlow than the perfect dress. Can Harlow find the real killer - with a little help from beyond?

Product Details
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Signet; Original edition (August 2, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451234367
ISBN-13: 978-0451234360




Riptide [Mass Market Paperback]

Product Description


Princess Bria Visconti demands the return of the money her brother rashly invested in Cutter Salvage. Treasure hunter Nick Cutter is too reckless, too arrogant — and far too handsome — for his own good. But he can’t charm his way out of this one. Bria plans to make Nick pay up even if she has to board his boat, don a wet suit, and dive for the treasure herself… 
Nick sees Bria as a beautiful but spoiled princess who’s never done a day’s work in her pampered life. But once they set sail for the dive site, and the legendary fortune in gold the wreck carries, Nick begins to see Bria in a new light. This princess may be out of her depth, but she’s ready to take on the hidden danger and excitement a treasure hunt stirs to the surface. Together they must fight unexpected enemies — and reveal their darkest secrets — before they’re pulled into a rip current of danger. 
Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks (August 30, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312371985
ISBN-13: 978-0312371982

 
 
Deep Disclosure [Mass Market Paperback] - Received Wednesday

Product Description 

After spending years in prison under deep cover, black ops agent Tucker Flynn joins A-Tac, an elite CIA unit masquerading as faculty at an Ivy League college. Nothing can shake him-except a vulnerable young woman marked for death.

DUAL DECEPTION

When Tucker is assigned to protect-and secretly investigate-Alexis Markham, he expects a routine mission. But this mysterious beauty has a past even darker than his: her father created a horrifying new biochemical weapon-and was murdered to keep it secret.

Alexis has spent the last decade racing to stay one step ahead of the shadowy operatives who will stop at nothing to possess her father's formula. She can trust no one, not even her handsome new bodyguard. But the heat that flares between them is impossible to resist. Will giving in to passion bring her the safety she's always craved, or will her love for Tucker draw him into a killer's sights?

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Forever (August 23, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0446582921
ISBN-13: 978-0446582926




In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel [Mass Market Paperback] - Received Friday

Book Description

With danger closing in, all they have is each other.

Haunted by a mission he barely survived, Delta Force operative Mace Stevens still carries a soldier’s burden. Running a small bar in upstate New York, he remains a stone-cold warrior who guards dangerous secrets and stays ready for anything. Anything except beautiful, vulnerable Paige Grayson, who shows up at his door, demanding answers about her heroic stepbrother’s death under his command.

Paige bears burdens, too. She’s plagued by demons unleashed by an older brother who committed mass murder before her eyes. But here in this snowy haven with Mace, she almost feels safe from the menacing promises of her insane sibling. As a nurse whose hands can read the deepest thoughts of anyone she touches, Paige knows that Mace needs her as desperately as she needs Mace. And when a faceless killer begins unleashing fresh terror, Mace proves just how far he will go to save the woman who means everything to him.


Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Dell; Original edition (August 2, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0440423031
ISBN-13: 978-0440423034

Thanks MacMillian, Penguin Canada, Random House US and Simon and Schuster Canada!


What did you get in the mail this week?

Friday, August 19, 2011

Follow My Blog #14



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature & Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this #FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES > Feature & Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host {Parajunkee.com} and (Alisoncanread.com}and any one else you want to follow on the list.

2. Follow our Featured Bloggers - Belle Books and Stuck in Books.

3. Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing.

4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments

5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can.

6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers

7. If your new to the Follow Friday Hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

The Friday Follow Features are ...

Belle Books

My name is Emma, I am 24 from Glasgow. Currently in my final year studying tourism with Spanish, and I also speak a little French and Italian. I've been an avid reader since I was young, and since reading the Twilight saga I've found a whole new love for young adult/paranormal romance/vampire books. Harry Potter will always be my favourite series, it literally was my childhood! I even have a Harry Potter tattoo <3

Stuck In Books

Stuck in Books

I'm a middle school math teacher. My eighth graders frequently carry around the books they are reading and I found myself picking up their books as I walked around the room. As I asked them about the books they read, I became interested in them. Soon I was reading the same books as my students. The library at school wasn't enough, so the public library became my best friend. Then last summer I read 75 books in 3 months. My husband teased me all the time that I would get stuck in my books. Sometimes it took me a while to respond to him when he'd come to find me.

When school started, I was so excited to tell my new students about the books that I read over the summer. I wasn't prepared for their questions though. What did I read? Which ones were my favorite? What was I reading now? It seemed like a good idea to find a way to share that kind of information. So in January of 2011, I started StuckInBooks. I named the site after my husbands teasing. I find that I love sharing what I've read as much as I love reading the books themselves. In a short six months, my blog has grown a lot. Now I'm facing a new school year and a new group of students. I know just what to answer when they ask what I did this summer.

Q. If you could write yourself a part in a book, what book would it be and what role would you play in that book?

I would love to be Eve Dallas because I would have a hot and mega rich husband who loved me, be able to kick ass and have some great friends and teammates.

18 and Over Book Blogger Hop #2



18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays and runs through the weekend hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines and Kelly at Secrets of a Book Lover.

The 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a Friday blog hop with the objective to find and visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the 18 and over crowd, and make new friends!

How to join in:

You should run a book blog that features and reviews mostly adult reads, some Y.A.’s are okay but 18 &  Over adult reads should be your majority.

Make a separate post for the 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow on your blog.

Copy the html for the button above and place it at the top of your post.

List and answer the ‘Question of the Week.’

Place your name and blog title in the linky below and the url for a direct link to your post

Visit the other blogs on the list. If you like what you see make sure to leave a comment and follow so the blog owner knows you stopped by and can return the favor. Following each blog is not mandatory but I know it is always appreciated, and if someone comments saying they’re a new follower it’s polite to follow back. It’s always nice to spread the 18 & Over Book Blog love!

Question of the week:

Have you ever read a book that just had too much sex in it? 


No I only read cozies, mystery thrillers and romantic suspense books but haven't come across any that has too much sex!

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Into the Night [Mass Market Paperback]


I've finished "Into the Night" the 1st book in her The Reliance Group series by Janelle Denison.
Product Description

A former Marine and Las Vegas Vice cop, Nathan Fox has seen it all and then some. Heading up security for The Onyx Casino is tame compared to his past, but it's not his only job. Working for The Reliance Group is his real passion project. His current case: A missing woman. His mission: To find her. But soon Nathan must deal with a stubborn -- and stunning -- journalist who's nosed her way into the investigation ... and into Nathan's fantasies.

To reporter Nicole Hutton, exposing a ruthless, twisted criminal who abuses vulnerable teens isn't just a job. In fact, this story has become very personal, especially now that she's gotten tangled up with sexy Nathan Fox. But before she can break the story, and help rescue a missing girl, she and Nathan must brave the labyrinth of Vegas's dark underbelly ... where the heat simmering between them is about to burst into flames..

INTO THE NIGHT is the first book in The Reliance Group Series. Book 2, NIGHT AFTER NIGHT, will be available October 2011
Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks; First Edition edition (March 29, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312372272
ISBN-13: 978-0312372279

My Review:

I highly recommend this series if you love well written characters with a great storyline and hot and steamy love scenes.
Storyline: Nathan Fox is a former Marine and Las Vegas Cop who now is a surveillance supervisor at the Onyx Casino but working for The Reliance Group is his real passion.  His boss Caleb Roux assigns him a new case which is to find a missing teenager Angela believed to be hooked up with a perverted billionaire Preston Sloan known for his perverted ways but hard to prove.  This case brings back bad memories when he was a cop and ended badly.  This case is very personal to him and he will not fail this time.

Nicole Hutton is a reporter really wants a juicy exclusive since her boss only hands her very cheesy assignments to investigate and report on.  She's very frustrated and not happy but she meets Nathan which perks her up at a Speed Dating Event.  She isn't looking for a happily-ever ending so a little fun with a very sexy and attractive man is what she needs.  The morning after she notices a file on his table in his house which features a very important man and a missing girl.

When Nathan finds out he isn't very happy about being tricked into participating at a Speed Dating Event but meeting Nicole made it worthwhile.  After they go out to have dinner and then they jump into bed without talking much about each other.  The next morning Nathan is determined to infiltrate Preston's inner circle but never expected to find Nicole aka Nikki dressed and looking like a teenager to catch Preston's eye.

Characters: Nathan quit being a cop when his latest assignment ended very badly with the girl he swore to protect died.  He blames himself and still does so this new case is very personal to him.

When Nicole was 18 yrs. old she was taken advantage of by her college professor and she has now vowed to make sure another girl isn't taken advantage of ever again.  She has been hurt emotionally and won't let her heart be broken again.

Romance:  The romance/sex between Nicole and Nathan is very hot and steamy.  I was really rooting for them and felt emotional reading about their pasts.

Killer: Preston is known for his perverted ways and threatens the girls to please his friends or else!  If they please him after they are too old for him he makes sure they are well cared for the rest of their lives and if you don't please him he makes sure you are given to the sex trade or killed!

4/5

Other Books in Series:

1.  Night After Night (Oct 4th)

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection are:




Deep Disclosure [Mass Market Paperback]
 
Product Description

After spending years in prison under deep cover, black ops agent Tucker Flynn joins A-Tac, an elite CIA unit masquerading as faculty at an Ivy League college. Nothing can shake him-except a vulnerable young woman marked for death.

DUAL DECEPTION

When Tucker is assigned to protect-and secretly investigate - Alexis Markham, he expects a routine mission. But this mysterious beauty has a past even darker than his: her father created a horrifying new biochemical weapon - and was murdered to keep it secret.

Alexis has spent the last decade racing to stay one step ahead of the shadowy operatives who will stop at nothing to possess her father's formula. She can trust no one, not even her handsome new bodyguard. But the heat that flares between them is impossible to resist. Will giving in to passion bring her the safety she's always craved, or will her love for Tucker draw him into a killer's sights?

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Forever (August 23, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0446582921
ISBN-13: 978-0446582926



 Kill Me If You Can [Hardcover]

Product Description


Matthew Bannon, a poor art student living in New York City, finds a duffel bag filled with diamonds during a chaotic attack at Grand Central Station. Plans for a worry-free life with his gorgeous girlfriend Katherine fill his thoughts--until he realizes that he is being hunted, and that whoever is after him won't stop until they have reclaimed the diamonds and exacted their revenge.

Trailing him is the Ghost, the world's greatest assassin, who has just pulled off his most high-profile hit: killing Walter Zelvas, a top member of the international Diamond Syndicate. There's only one small problem: the diamonds he was supposed to retrieve from Zelvas are missing. Now, the Ghost is on Bannon's trail -- but so is a rival assassin who would like nothing more than to make the Ghost disappear forever. From "America's #1 storyteller" (Forbes) comes a high-speed, high-stakes, winner - take - all thrill ride of adrenaline-fueled suspense.

Product Details
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (August 29, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316097543
ISBN-13: 978-0316097543

Monday, August 15, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (Aug 15)


What Are You Reading is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Sheila from One Persons Journey: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com

Post the books you read last week, book currently being read and books you plan on finishing this week.

Last week I read:

1. Deadly Sins - Kylie Brant
2. Into the Night - Janelle Denison

I’m currently reading:

1. When You Dare - Lori Foster

Books I’m planning on reading this week:

1. Blood Stains - Sharon Sala

Here's the link:

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2011/08/14/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-the-100th-imwayr-post-with-bonus-giveaway

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Library Haul 2011 (Aug 14 - 20)

Here's the book list I picked up from the library this week:

Softcover:

1.  Kiss Me Kill Me - Maggie Shayne

What books/manga did you pick up from the library this week?

Friday, August 12, 2011

With No Remorse [Mass Market Paperback]


I've finished "With No Remorse" the 6th book in her Black Op. Inc. series by Cindy Gerard.

Product Description

Black Ops, Inc. operative Luke – Doc Holliday – Colter is taking some much needed down-time, making his way across the Peruvian Andes via rail, when banditos attack the moving train in the midnight hours.  It soon becomes apparent that robbery is not their intent but the abduction of super model Valentina, who is traveling incognito while recovering from a public scandal involving her ex-husband, high profile US Senator, Marcus Chamberlin.  Luke whisks Valentina off the train in a daring escape but the two of them become the targets of a relentless manhunt.  Enlisting the aid of Luke's BOI teammates, they soon discover that Val’s intended abduction is linked to a plot put in play by an international gun smuggling alliance.  The BOI team led by Luke, with Val along as a necessary pawn, must race halfway around the world to thwart a ruthless attack that would not only result in a devastating loss of life but destroy a tenuous peace the US and her allies have established in a vastly unstable part of the world. 

About the Author

CINDY GERARD's New York Times bestselling Black Ops, Inc. series also includes SHOW NO MERCY, TAKE NO PRISONERS, winner of the RITA Award for Best Romantic Suspense novel, WHISPER NO LIES, and FEEL THE HEAT. She is the author of the bestselling Bodyguards series and thirty contemporary romance novels. She lives in the Midwest with her husband.

Product Details
Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Pocket Star (July 19, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1451606818
ISBN-13: 978-1451606812

My Review:

Storyline:  Luke "Doc" Coulter is on a well deserved vacation and still recovering from being gut shot a year ago. He's still questioning his mortality, his abilities and even his reasoning for what he is doing for BOI.  While on his way to Peru on a train he meets his dream girl Valentina a model he has had a crush on since his teen years. Bad guys are after her and he feels very protective of her and slips back into his old self to keep her alive.

Characters: Luke is a sexy, charming, has a sense of humor, protective, strong, caring and has a heart of gold.

Valentina is no slouch either since she has to endear being man-handled, having swollen knees and surviving the freezing cold.  She's adaptable and does what needs to be done to survive.  She's smart and but for moment when she asks her ex to help her after all that Luke has done for her.  Really liked how she interacted with BJ and Crystal.

She was abducted as a young girl by her mother's ex-boyfriend and still deals with the trauma of that situation of being horribly claustrophobic. She's on her own mission of finding some peace and silence from her crazy world. Her high profile marriage ended in divorce after her husband was caught cheating and after she learned of that and other betrayals she just needed to get away from it all.
Joe Green also steps up to the plate and has a bigger role in this book.  He is filled with rage over the death of their team-mate a long time ago.

Romance:  Valentina and Luke are the total are two peas in a pod.  Both feel lonely in the world and I really like their sense of humor.  Their love scenes were pretty hot and at times I needed to drink to cool down.

Killer: The killer really loves their family and makes sure they know nothing of their business.  This person was really scary and willing to do anything to make sure Valentina was brought to them to use as a hostage.

4/5

Thanks Maylene from Simon and Schuster Canada for sending me this book to review, greatly appreciated!

18 and Over Book Blogger Hop #1




18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays and runs through the weekend hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines and Kelly at Secrets of a Book Lover.

The 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a Friday blog hop with the objective to find and visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the 18 and over crowd, and make new friends!

How to join in:

You should run a book blog that features and reviews mostly adult reads, some Y.A.’s are okay but 18 &  Over adult reads should be your majority.

Make a separate post for the 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow on your blog.

Copy the html for the button above and place it at the top of your post.

List and answer the ‘Question of the Week.’

Place your name and blog title in the linky below and the url for a direct link to your post

Visit the other blogs on the list. If you like what you see make sure to leave a comment and follow so the blog owner knows you stopped by and can return the favor. Following each blog is not mandatory but I know it is always appreciated, and if someone comments saying they’re a new follower it’s polite to follow back. It’s always nice to spread the 18 & Over Book Blog love!

Question of the Week: What pre-release book are you most anticipating?

Here's my list:

Prey by Linda Howard
New York to Dallas by J.D. Robb
Killing the Blues - Robert B. Parker
Lethal - Sandra Brown
Hell to Pay - Wendy Corsi Staub
Dead Reckoning - Jordan Dane
Night Moves - Stephanie Tyler
ShockWave - John Sandford
The Affair - Lee Child
Bonnie - Iris Johansen
Kill Alex Cross - James Patterson

Follow My Blog #13



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature & Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this #FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES > Feature & Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host {Parajunkee.com} and (Alisoncanread.com}and any one else you want to follow on the list.

2. Follow our Featured Bloggers - Teen Fiction Cenre and StephLikesBooks.

3. Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing.

4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments

5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can.

6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers

7. If your new to the Follow Friday Hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

The Friday Follow Features are ...

Jake @ Teen Fiction Centre


Hi I'm Jake, and I run Teen Fiction Centre! I love to read all things Teen / YA fiction, so I decided to start a blog about just that. Through Teen Fiction Centre I aim to provide top quality news, reviews, and author interviews, to keep fellow readers of Teen / YA fiction in the know!

Teen Fiction Centre has been running for just over two weeks now, and already we have 63 followers, an interview with Lauren Oliver, and several guest reviews! I hope that Teen Fiction Centre will continue to grow, so that I can share my love of the genre with as many people as possible!

StephLikesBooks

StephLikesBooks

Hi! I'm Steph :) I'm 18 and 3/4's. I live in the UK at the moment -I'd love to travel! I'm obviously very passionate about reading, I always have a book with me wherever I go. I'm one of those people that drags others into a bookstore just to have a peek at all the books :) (Yes, I am one of those people who smells books :D) I started blogging because I wanted to share my opinions and thoughts with other readers.

I have A LOT of favourite books e.g. The Hunger Games, Divergent, Harry Potter -ofc! :) The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, Vampire Academy, Blue Bloods, Poison Study novels etc. :) I'm currently reading a few books, Coexist by Julia Crane, Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead, Dead Beautiful. Something that makes me an interesting person is..... I can twist my hand all the way around :) I know, I know, gross! :D


Q. How has your reading habits changed since you were a teen? or If you are still a teen what new genres are you in love with currently? 

As a teen I didn't read any mystery thriller or romantic suspense books just the Nancy Drew and the Caitlyn series.


As an adult now I only read adult cozies, mystery thrillers and romantic suspense books.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Deadly Sins (The Mindhunters) [Paperback]



I've finished "Deadly Sins" the 5th book in her Mindhunter series by Kylie Brant.

Product Description

An unknown assassin has appointed himself judge, jury, and executioner, brutally taking out high-level human targets citywide. It's just the kind of case that will test the resolve of a tough FBI agent like Jaid Marlowe. Especially when her new partner is Adam Raiker, Jaid's former colleague - and ex-lover.

Product Details
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Berkley; Original edition (August 2, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0425242706
ISBN-13: 978-0425242704


My Review: 

I highly recommend reading this series if you like fast-paced romantic suspense with well written characters and spooky/creepy villains.

Storyline:  This book opens a few months after Adam's near brush with death from an assassin.

An assassin kills high profile targets in the DC city with the latest being a high-profile Supreme Court Judge Bryon Reinbeck and leaves calling cards one of the Deadly Sins which provides links back to Adam Raiker.  The judge's wife Mary Jo of twenty-five years pulls some strings to get Adam of Raiker's Forensics on the task force since they are friends.

Adam is paired with FBI agent Jaid Marlowe his former lover and collegue.

Characters: Adam is a very close minded person who doesn't like to share his past.  He has pushed Jaid out of his life to protect her and his own secrets.  He wants to keep her safe from the danger he is in.

Jaid is a an experienced FBI agent and very good in what she does. She's smart, strong and could be sneaky when the situation called for it.

All of the characters were well written including Adam's former partner now head of the investigation, Adam's former priest who was his friend and mentor who now has made some bad choices and his current partner who might have a serious gambling problem.

Romance:  I really enjoyed the romance between Jaid and Adam because they had a history together and you can see and feel the chemistry between them.

Killer:  The villain is a criminal mastermind responsible for the deaths of five people and is very determined to pin the crime on Adam.

4/5

Monday, August 8, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (Aug 8)


What Are You Reading is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Sheila from One Persons Journey: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com

Post the books you read last week, book currently being read and books you plan on finishing this week.

Last week I read:

1. Eve - Iris Johansen
2. With No Remorse - Cindy Gerard

I’m currently reading:

1. Deadly Sins - Kylie Brant

Books I’m planning on reading this week:

1. Into the Night - Janelle Denison

Here's the link:

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-99

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Time of Death (In Death) [Paperback]


I've finished "Time of Death" by J.D. Robb.

Product Description

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author: three popular Eve Dallas stories together for the first time in one volume.

J. D. Robb's In Death novels have been praised as "Law & Order: SVU-in the future" (Entertainment Weekly). Now, together for the first time in one volume, are three stories that spotlight Lieutenant Eve Dallas doing what she does best: solving crime with skill, integrity, and passion.

Eternity in Death 

A seductive killer is luring in victims with a promise of the impossible - immortality. Eve Dallas must strip away the fantasy to catch the coldhearted madman.

Ritual in Death

Eve is plunged into the violent aftermath of a ritualistic murder - and into the mind of an alleged witness who can't remember a thing to save his life.

Missing in Death

When a woman disappears from a New York City ferry, it's a case that only Eve Dallas can solve - because the woman didn't jump, and yet she's not on board.

About the Author 

J.D. Robb is the pseudonym for the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 190 novels, including the futuristic suspense In Death series. There are more than 400 million copies of the author's books in print. She lives in Maryland.

Product Details
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Berkley Trade; 1 edition (June 28, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0425240827
ISBN-13: 978-0425240823


My Review:

Eve was focused and dedicated in these stories.  She was very determined to prove enough evidence that the villains were arrested.  I really enjoyed the way Eve was very through with her investigation and the way her and her team work so well together.

Roarke plays a very big role in helping and providing Eve with evidence and information to solve her crimes.  He also provides some much needed relaxing love making and boy are they hot!

In the first story a very young socialite believes that her lover is a vampire who will make her eternally young and beautiful. Eve and her team visit a vampire nightclub in underground New York.

In the second story Roarke and Eve are attending a party which is gate-crashed by a naked man holding a knife and covered in blood. When Eve follows the blood trail, she finds a young woman ritually slain.

In the third story, it is a locked room mystery set on a ferry boat. The victim and her killer vanish from the ferry. 

4/5

Saturday, August 6, 2011

In the Mail Saturday 2011 (Aug 6)


In the Mail Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.


Deadly Sins (Berkley Sensation) [Paperback] - Received Wednesday

Product Description

An unknown assassin has appointed himself judge, jury, and executioner, brutally taking out high-level human targets citywide. It's just the kind of case that will test the resolve of a tough FBI agent like Jaid Marlowe. Especially when her new partner is Adam Raiker, Jaid's former colleague - and ex-lover.

Product Details
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Berkley; Original edition (August 2, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0425242706
ISBN-13: 978-0425242704



Secrets of Bella Terra: A Scarlet Deception Novel [Paperback]

Product Description

Brooding and sexy Rafe Di Luca has returned to his family's luxurious vineyard resort for one reason: to find out who attacked his beloved grandmother. His homecoming stirs up a decades - old feud, forcing him to work with Brooke Petersson, the woman he once seduced and betrayed ... but never forgot.

Product Details
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Signet Select; Original edition (August 2, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451413091
ISBN-13: 978-0451413093




Kill Me If You Can [Hardcover]


Product Description

Matthew Bannon, a poor art student living in New York City, finds a duffel bag filled with diamonds during a chaotic attack at Grand Central Station. Plans for a worry-free life with his gorgeous girlfriend Katherine fill his thoughts -- until he realizes that he is being hunted, and that whoever is after him won't stop until they have reclaimed the diamonds and exacted their revenge.

Trailing him is the Ghost, the world's greatest assassin, who has just pulled off his most high-profile hit: killing Walter Zelvas, a top member of the international Diamond Syndicate. There's only one small problem: the diamonds he was supposed to retrieve from Zelvas are missing. Now, the Ghost is on Bannon's trail -- but so is a rival assassin who would like nothing more than to make the Ghost disappear forever.

Product Details
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (August 29, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316097543
ISBN-13: 978-0316097543


Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada and Penguin Canada!